How to watch and what to expect


(Pocket-lint) – In response to a leak by Siri, Apple has officially announced it will hold a special “Spring Loaded” event in April. As with most tech showcases and conferences these days, Apple’s event will be a digital-only affair, with no one invited to attend in person due to the ongoing pandemic.

Curious as to what Cupertino plans to announce? Here is everything Pocket-lint expects to debut, plus how you can watch the entire event for yourself online.

When is Apple’s Spring Loaded event?

Apple’s special “Spring Loaded” is set for Tuesday 20 April 2021 at 10am PT. The show will be streamed from the Steve Jobs Theater on the Apple Park campus in Cupertino, California. Here are a few different local from around the globe for those tuning in elsewhere:

  • US West: 10am PT
  • US East: 1pm ET
  • London: 6pm
  • Paris: 7pm
  • Tokyo: 2am (21 April)
  • Beijing: 1am (21 April)
  • Delhi: 10:30pm

How to watch Apple’s Spring Loaded event

We plan to embed the stream above once it becomes available. Apple will also host the stream on its own Apple Events page. Alternatively, you should be able to watch it on your Apple TV through the Apple Events app, or you can stream from your iOS device via AirPlay and a second-generation-or-later Apple TV.

What to expect from Apple’s event

Here’s everything Apple could announce during its event…

Pocket-lint

iPad Pro, iPad, and iPad mini

Apple is thought to be working on a new version of the 12.9-inch iPad Pro. No design changes are expected, but it will feature a mini-LED display, improved camera, A14X chip, Thunderbolt connectivity, and maybe even a 5G chip. An 11-inch model might be coming, too, though the mini-LED display will be exclusive to the 12.9-inch model.

Apple is reportedly developing a ninth-generation, low-cost iPad, too, with a 10.2-inch or 10.5-inch display and a thinner design. It’ll be a lot like the third-generation iPad Air. A new version of the iPad mini could also arrive at the event. It’s thought to feature an 8.5-inch or 9-inch display with no design changes and even a Lightning port.

Pocket-lint

iMac

Apple is rumoured to be developing a new version of the iMac. It’ll get a physical overhaul mirroring the iPad Pro’s design language, complete with thinner bezels. It’s also expected to be running an Apple Silicon chip and an Apple-designed GPU. Two versions are reportedly in the works, including one with a screen larger than 27 inches.

Pocket-lint

Apple TV

Apple’s next-generation Apple TV has been rumoured a lot lately. It could pack an updated processor and a redesigned Apple TV remote with a Find My-like feature. Two variants, one with an A12 chip and one with an A14X chip, are expected, with Apple the latter capable of offering console-level games for Apple Arcade. More recent reports suggest Apple could be looking at a twist on the Apple TV, by offering one with a speaker and cameras, making it an all-in-one device to connect to a TV.

Pocket-lint

AirPods 3 and AirPods Pro 2

Apple is supposedly working on a new version of the AirPods that look similar to the AirPods Pro and feature Active Noise Cancellation, a smaller case, a shorter stem, and a more affordable price tag. The company is also reportedly developing a new version of the AirPods Pro with a more compact design, no stem, and a new wireless chip.

Apple/MacRumors

AirTags

Finally, Apple has been working on new products to rival Tile, a popular hardware tracker that attaches to items in order to locate them over Bluetooth or crowdsourcing. Apple’s trackers, thought to be called AirTags, would allow users to locate lost or stolen items. The existence of these devices has been widely reported on by the media and leakers for a couple of years now. They’re expected to look like circular discs, should feature Apple’s ultra-wideband tech, and will leverage Apple’s Find My app.

Writing by Maggie Tillman.



Source link

Leave a Reply